polar bear

welcome to opus

Hello, my name is Kevin Franz Josef Harris. For over twenty years now I have been composing music, mostly as a hobby. It has been something I enjoy doing. Way back when I was seven years old my parents noticed that I had a musical gift, so they signed me up for piano lessons. For the next four years I would study piano. But during that time I also expressed interest in composing my own music. Unfortunately my piano teacher wasn't interested in nurturing that interest. I did manage to write a very small piece for piano at that time however. But time passed and I lost interest in playing the piano and composing my own stuff. But when I was 27 years old, the interest came back and I started playing again. It would be that year that I would write my first real compositions, with the help of a friend. Since then I have composed over 70 works, ranging from simple piano pieces to works for full orchestra. When I am not composing music, I'm Lead Designer for an amazing company called Omnilert, safeguarding lives on campuses, schools and other public places.


The almost deleted Gloria - New work!

In 2011 I began working on a Mass. But it was a daunting project and I chose to just release the finished first piece, the Kyrie. I was going through old unfinished pieces which I had no interest in completing, and deleting them. Well I came across the Gloria from the mass and found it to be 90% finished. So I decided to wrap it up, get it out of the "to be deleted" folder. Give it a listen at the Liturgical Works page.

2016 Marks 40th Anniversary of First Composition

In 1976, when I was eleven years old, I composed my first piece of music - a short and simple work for piano. This year is the 40th anniversary of that first composition. You can hear it now at the top of the playlist on the Piano Works page.

NEW WORK: Duet for Clarinet and Piano

I am pleased to release my final work for 2015, a Duet for Piano and Clarinet in E-Flat Major, dedicated to my biological family at Christmas, you can hear it on the Piano Works page.

Piano Sonata in C minor

I am very proud to present my latest composition, a Piano Sonata in C minor. This three movement work is the biggest piece I have composed to date, and you can hear it on the Piano Works page.

featured work


The Piano Sonata in C minor is my first big composition in a long time. This three movement piece expresses a wealth of emotions which I have felt over the past five years. Enjoy!


Orchestral Works

Works for Orchestra and Orchestra with Solo Instrument.


Chamber Works

Works for a small group of instruments or string ensemble.


Works for Piano

Works for Solo Piano or Piano and accompanying instruments.


Liturgical Works

Works of faith, music a capella or for voice and orchestra.


In Character

Music from the web documentary series produced by Indy Roamers.


Music Videos

A playlist of music videos on the official YouTube channel of Kevin F.J. Harris.